PCB releases the list of players for the Asia Cup 2018 Squad

After an intense training session at the Pakistan Military Academy, Pakistan Cricket Board announced the 16 member squad for the upcoming highly anticipated Asia Cup 2018.

For Asia Cup, PCB has opted for a pace-heavy lineup which includes Faheem, Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi and Junaid Khan.

These players alongside the others will be traveling to UAE to face some of the best teams from the sub-continent including India.

Not surprisingly, PCB has dropped off experienced player Mohammad Hafeez who has recently been facing a downward career. The board has picked new faces instead to try out their options but Hafeez is still being considered for the World Cup 2019 squad.

Yasir Shah and Imad Wasim have also been left out from this squad. The reason for leaving Imad Wasim behind is that he failed the pre-Asia Cup fitness test twice.

Pakistan Cricket Board believes strongly in the fitness of players and is readily giving up on anyone if they fail to pass the fitness test. Experienced players who do not clear the fitness test are given another chance at the fitness test before they are completely dropped from the squad.

Full Squad of Team Pakistan for Asia Cup 2018

Without further due, here are the 16-man squad heading to UAE for Asia Cup later this month.

Fakhar Zaman – Batsman

Sarfraz Ahmed – Wicket Keeper (c)

Hasan Ali – Bowler

Imam-Ul-Haq – Batsman

Haris Sohail – Batsman

Shadab Khan – All Rounder

Usman Khan – Bowler

Babar Azam – Batsman

Shoaib Malik – All-Rounder

Mohammad Nawaz – All-Rounder

Shaheen Afridi – Bowler

Junaid Khan – Bowler

Asif Ali – Batsman

Faheem Ashraf – All Rounder

Mohammad Amir – Bowler

Shan Masood – Batsman

Asia Cup 2018 Schedule

The Asia Cup 2018 is set to begin from September 15, 2018. The tournament will have two stages beginning from the group stage then going into the super four stage.

Before the series begins, qualifier matches will be played between Hong Kong, Malaysia, Nepal, Oman, Singapore, and United Arab Emirates.

The winner of these qualifiers will be the 6th team of the series.

For full Asia Cup 2018 schedule, click here.