Peshawar Zalmi & Lahore Qalanders owners buy teams in T20 Global League to be held in South Africa

After the massive success of Pakistan Super League in Pakistan, the owners of the two teams in PSL, Peshawar Zalmi and Lahore Qalandars have set their eyes on the T20 Global League. Muhammad Javaid Afridi and Rana Fawad now have officially become owners of two franchises in T20 Global League. The league will be held in South Africa and is expected to start in the fourth quarter of 2017.

Today at the franchise announcement ceremony, it was revealed that Muhammad Javaid Afridi now owns the Benoni Franchise which he has named as Benoni Zalmi. The players of the team are yet to be announced. Rana Fawad’s has acquired the Durban franchise, the official name of which is yet to be announced.

More about T20 Global League

The Global T20 League will be a Twenty20 tournament being held in South Africa. The league will have 8 franchises in its first season which is set to start in the fourth quarter of 2017. The T20 Global League is the brainchild of Cricket South Africa (CSA) and is also managed by the board itself.

The league had already gained a lot of interest when it was revealed earlier this year. At least 150 parties were interested in acquiring a team in the tournament, but only 8 parties were successful at acquiring the teams. These are as follows:

T20 Global League Team Owners(2 Pakistani Owners)

  • Shah Rukh Khan (Kolkata Knight Riders)
  • Rana Fawad (Qatar Lubricants Company Ltd)
  • GMR Group (Delhi Daredevils)
  • Muhammad Javed Afridi (Peshawar Zalmi)
  • Osman Osman (SA Consortium)
  • Ajay Sethi (Channel 2 Group)
  • Mustaq Brey (Brimstone Investment Corporation)
  • Sushil Kumar (City Sports)

The 8 franchises will be based on 8 cities from South Africa. Here are the names of the cities that will have their franchises:

T20 Global League Teams

  • Stellenbosch (Boland Park)
  • Durban (Kingsmead)
  • Bloemfontein (Mangaung Oval)
  • Cape Town (Newlands)
  • Pretoria (SuperSport Park)
  • Port Elizabeth (St. George’s Park)
  • Johannesburg (Wanderers Stadium)
  • Benoni (Willowmoore Park)

Cricket South Africa announced 16 players picked from the best of the best both internationally and from South Africa. Here are the international players already announced to be part of the league:

  1. Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)
  2. Chris Gayle (West Indies)
  3. Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
  4. Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)
  5. Eoin Morgan (England)
  6. Kevin Pietersen (England)
  7. Kieron Pollard (West Indies)
  8. Jason Roy (England)

Here are the South African players who will be leading the team:

  1. Hashim Amla – Durban (Kingsmead)
  2. Quinton de Kock – Benoni (Willowmoore Park)
  3. AB de Villiers – Pretoria (SuperSport Park)
  4. JP Duminy – Cape Town (Newlands)
  5. Faf du Plessis – Stellenbosch (Boland Park)
  6. David Miller – Bloemfontein (Mangaung Oval)
  7. Kagiso Rabada – Johannesburg (Wanderers Stadium)
  8. Imran Tahir – Port Elizabeth (St. George’s Park)

The T20 Global League will start in the fourth quarter of this year. We’re really excited to see which of the Pakistani players will make it to the league. With two of our own PSL teams now abroad the tournament, this will be like the second PSL for us!